30 day book challenge: Day 3

Day three and that means I will be telling you my favourite characters and the books they are from.
No listed limit to this one, which is good, but that may also mean I have chosen far too many!

Katniss Everdeen – The Hunger Games, Catching Fire and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

I’ve already mentioned my love of The Hunger Games and part of the reason it was so gripping and amazing was Katniss. She’s such an interesting main character, and her narration drives the story along. Best of all, she’s really believable despite her unusual circumstances.

Bella Swan – Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse and Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer

I read Twilight and could not put it down. I just though Bella was great. I know she finds most things a bit depressing, and probably goes on a bit too much about a certain vampire, but I’m a huge fan of first person narration. Meyer made me feel like I was Bella, and I sped through her story. Breaking Dawn is my least favourite because we hear less from Bella and more from Jacob.

Dexter Morgan – Darkly Dreaming Dexter, Dearly Devoted Dexter, Dexter in the Dark, Dexter by Design and Dexter is Delicious by Jeff Lindsay

Another narrator of his own stories, Dexter is a brilliant creation. How can you like him, he’s a serial killer? Well, with Dexter that’s all part of the very confusing charm. I just love the way he images things, how he thinks, and how well Lindsay has written his dark hero’s most intimate and funny thoughts. If you haven’t read Dexter yet, or have only seen the series, read it now! Darkly Dreaming Dexter is easily the best.

Rob – High Fidelity by Nick Hornby

I don’t want to repeat myself too much so I will just say that Rob, although flawed, is a great character. I love his record collection, his top five lists, and his all time breakups. He is a person who you feel you know, as though he’s one of your friends, by the end of the book.

Jack Reacher – Many books by Lee Child, but I’ve only read three Die Trying, The Vistor and Killng Floor

I don’t know what to say about Jack. He’s a formidable character. Tall, ex-army, living off the grid, can tell time in his head, likes music, investigates crimes (usually those he’s been drawn in to against his will) and has a fascinating past. Lee Child writes his series of books some in third person and some in first, so you get to know a lot about Jack.

I feel I may get repetitive and boring so I’m going to stop there. I must give honourable mentions though to the following characters, and if you want to know more, I recommend all the books they feature in:

Hermione Granger – Harry Potter and the… by J.K. Rowling
Fiesty, intelligent, brave and a witch! You’d want her on your side in a battle.

Sherlock Holmes – A Study in Scarlet, The Sign if Four and many more by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Quirky, eccentric, clever. Possibly my favourite detective, but has competition below.

Poirot – too many books to name, all by Agatha Christie.
The Belgian detective who believes so firmly in the power of the ‘little grey cells’. He’s in all the best Christie novels.

I also loved Ian Rankin’s character DI John Rebus; Tess Gerritsen’s Detective Jane Rizzoli; Matthew Shardlake in Dissolution and Sovereign by C.J. Sansom and R, the main character (a zombie) in Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion.

That’s enough for today. Least favourite characters and their books tomorrow!

Check out other 30 day challengers Books on the Tube and Flower Faerie Lives Life!

One thought on “30 day book challenge: Day 3

  1. Pingback: 30 day book challenge: Day 6… And Book 7: Killing Floor by Lee Child | Xarglebook

Leave a Reply

