Book 15: Fallen by Karin Slaughter

Last week I mentioned I would try a new selection method for my books, being as I have so many to get through that it’s hard to choose. This week’s read came from my living room bookcase. This one:

IMAG0658

As you can see, it contains my football and sports book on the bottom shelf (boxing books belong to my other half). The rest is devoted to crime fiction. Karin Slaughter and Tess Gerritsen feature heavily (I started reading both authors at the same time in my life and they are remarkably similar to me). So this week my chosen read was Fallen by Karin Slaughter. I’ve read all her books up to this one. I really love the Grant County series, which I read first. Lena is a brilliantly messed up character and I like her medical examiner Sara Linton too. I cried at Skin Privelege. Then, Slaughter wrote some other books, about Will Trent (starting with Triptych, which I didn’t like at first). After that, she merged the two series, and wrote some fantastic books starring all her characters. This one lacked Lena Adams, but it was still very readable.

IMAG0657

Fallen centres around Faith Mitchell, and her mother Evelyn Mitchell who has been brutally taken from her house without warning. Of course, there is a huge secret in her past, that everyone will eventually uncover. There was a lovely side storyline between Will Trent and Sara Linton. Also, as is customary for Karin Slaughter, it featured many murders, some more gruesome than others. If you’ve read Slaughter before, this is probably her least gory, but it had its moments.

I enjoyed the story, although it took me a while to get in to. I only managed about 60 pages during the week, and read the rest in one greedy indulgent read yesterday. I’m glad I read the exciting part in one sitting because it would have been hard to put down. Standard Slaughter fare, but not my favourite of her works. It was very enjoyable nonetheless. I give it 7/10.

Next week I’d chosen Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks from my dining room bookshelf, but having started reading today it became clear that it contains too many spoilers for me to read it just yet! So instead I’m starting They Do It With Mirrors by Agatha Christie. I’ll let you know how I get on. I’m really enjoying the thought of Bank Holiday reading, what are you reading for the extra day off if you have one?

Leave a Reply

