30 day book challenge: Day 8.

Day 8: Your favourite quotes from books.

This may not take long. There has been very few times when I’ve actually bothered to write down a quote I’ve enjoyed.

Like these two, from The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler:
‘Neither of the two people in the room paid any attention to the way I came in, although only one of them was dead.’
‘It was about eleven o’clock in the morning, mid October, with the sun not shining and a look of hard wet rain in the clearness of the foothills…’

I like these from Favourite Sherlock Holmes Stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle even more:
‘To me, who knew his every mood and habit, his attitude and manner told their own story. He was at work again. He had risen out of his drug related dreams, and was hot upon the scent of some new problem.’ from A Scandal in Bohemia
‘I knew not what wild beast we about to hunt down in the dark jungle of crimal London, but I was well assured from the bearing of this master huntsman that the adventure was a most grave one.’ from The Adventure of the Empty House
‘It had darkened since I had left, and now I could only see here and there the glistening of moisture upon the black walls, and far down at the end of the shaft the gleam of broken water. I shouted; but only that same half-human cry of the fall was borne back to my ears.’ in The Final Problem

Sorry, but that’s all for today. Tomorrow, quotes ABOUT books.

Don’t forget to check out these lovely blogs where they are doing the same challenge: Flower Faerie Lives Life and Books on the Tube.

One thought on “30 day book challenge: Day 8.

  1. I like the quotes from ‘The Big Sleep’, I’ve not read it, it will have to go on my ‘to-read’ list now. 🙂
    The quote questions are really hard!! I’m struggling with today’s Quotes About Books.

Leave a Reply

