30 day book challenge: Day 10!

Into double figures already!
Day 10: Name five absolutely great film adaptations of books.

1. Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging Directed by Gurinder Chadha (2008)
Not quite a perfect adaptation of Angus, Thongs and Full-frontal Snogging and It’s OK, I’m Wearing Really Big Knickers, by Louise Rennison, but brilliant all the same. It had The Stiff Dylans, the olive costume, the mad cat and sister, the snogging coach and the love story with complications. What it lacked it made up for with a great soundtrack. A complete guilty pleasure. The books are so funny though, go out and read them if you haven’t yet!

2. High Fidelity Directed by Stephen Frears (2000)
Novel by Nick Hornby. If you haven’t already realised I love this book, you haven’t been paying attention! I also love the film, despite it’s American cast, when it was very much a British book. The adaptation does well though. It keeps the record collection, the shop, the break ups and the top fives extremely close to how I imagined them.

3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Directed by Alfonso Cuaròn (2004)
Novel by J.K. Rowling. In my opinion the best adaptation of the Potter books. It came the closest to my imagining of the storyline and I absolutely loved the time turner bits. Handled so well by the director. My most watched of all the films.

4. The Bourne Identity Directed by Doug Liman (2002)
Novel by Robert Ludlum. A great adaptation. Not the Bourne I imagined in the book but the changes were okay with me, and that’s very rare for me. A good film. A cracking read.

5. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas Directed by Terry Gilliam (1998)
Novel by Hunter S. Thompson. The book is a fantastically written, trippy, drug-addled, highly amusing mess of a read. The film is more of the same. I love both but for different reasons. Both make me laugh, both are crazy. The book made me go out and hunt down more Hunter S. Thompson. The film made me want to go to Las Vegas. Great stuff.

Honourable mentions to The Beach and A Clockwork Orange.
That’s all for today folks. Tomorrow I will tell you three terrible film adaptations of books, if I can think of any! Check out, as always Flower Faerie Lives Life and Books on the Tube. Also, I will be following Me, Bookshelf and I, who has recently startedthe challenge. Check them out too, if you like!

2 thoughts on “30 day book challenge: Day 10!

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 10 | Me, Bookshelf and I

Leave a Reply

