30 day book challenge: Day 12.

Day 12: Your favourite authors.

I like this one. It won’t tax my tired Sunday morning brain too much. If you’ve read much of this blog you’ll know a lot of what I’m going to say already. Stay tuned anyway: I have a favour to ask at the end of the post.

Agatha Christie
The ‘Queen of Crime’ wrote close to 100 mysteries and ‘whodunnits’, her work spanning five decades. Her plays still run in the West End. Read almost any one of her novels, and I challenge you not to be hooked! When I first read Murder on the Orient Express, back in February 2006, I would go on to read six more of Christie’s novels that month alone. This year, I hope to finish the last of the Poirot books – I have two left to read.

Karin Slaughter and Tess Gerritsen
Two similar crime writers, who know their stuff. They write gore, psychopaths and mysteries so well, and both ladies have come up with great detectives and medical examiners among their characters. My favourite Slaughter is probably Skin Privelege, my favourite Gerritsen either The Surgeon or The Apprentice.

Ian Rankin
Read his Rebus series. I started it in 2005, with Knots and Crosses, reading the books in order until 2010. I hear there is a new one though, which I must seek out. Rankin writes crime like nothing else I have ever read.

Nick Hornby
I’ve yet to read Juliet Naked or any recent works. Hornby makes the list for High Fidelity, Fever Pitch and About a Boy. Great writer.

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
The creator of 221b Baker Street, Holmes, Watson and Moriarty. What a genius.

I also love the following authors (I hope I don’t leave anyone out): Jeff Lindsay, Patricia Cornwell, Charlaine Harris, Stephenie Meyer, Harlan Coben, Lee Child, Louise Rennison and Allan Ahlberg.

Off the topic at hand, as part of my Readarama challenge, next week I’m letting my readers decide what I should read! Just for fun, if you would like to vote, go here to vote for what I read next week. I’ll probably start reading whatever wins tomorrow, so vote today if you want to influence things!

Lastly, if you enjoy reading about the book challenge, check out my fellow 30 day bloggers at Flower Faerie Lives Life, Books on the Tube and Me, Bookshelf and I.

One thought on “30 day book challenge: Day 12.

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 12 | Me, Bookshelf and I

Leave a Reply

