Book 16: They Do It With Mirrors by Agatha Christie

I finished my 16th book of the year on Wednesday, so I’m currently very close to reading two books this week, courtesy of the bank holiday! Both books have been selected from my dining room bookshelf, which is the bookcase pictured at the top of this blog.
Anyway, They Do It With Mirrors was a great read.

20130512-132529.jpg
As you will know if you’ve been following my attempt at Penguin’s Readarama challenge (read one book per week all year), I’ve read quite a few Christie novels this year. You will also know that I’m not a huge fan of Miss Marple. Well, this was another Marple adventure. Now I’m going to deviate from my usual criticism of the old lady sleuth. This was a really enjoyable, well written and thought out murder mystery. It hinged on misdirection, with an element of locked room thrown in. There were unbreakable alibis, elements of theatre, and plenty of fatalities. Marple is a shrewd and subtle investigator. She actually does very little, and sometimes you forget she’s there. I think that’s what I have previously found difficult about her. In contrast to Poirot, Agatha’s other hero of detection, the old lady takes a much more passive role, but often manages the same results.

Of the Marple books I have read, which includes Murder at the Vicarage, The Thirteen Problems, The Body in the Library and A Caribbean Mystery, this is definately one of my favourites. The plot was far more interesting than A Caribbean Mystery, which I read earlier this year. They Do It With Mirrors held my attention from start to finish, and it had some characters I really liked, and enjoyed reading about. A light, but gripping story. I give it 7/10.

3 thoughts on “Book 16: They Do It With Mirrors by Agatha Christie

  1. I never understand how people can read so fast. I can never finish a book in a week. Anyways, thanks for the review. This book has been on my shelf for a while (my wife reads even less) so maybe it’s time to check it out. 🙂

    • You’re welcome. Hope you enjoy it if you do try it out. I find a book a week a struggle if it’s a 400 page or more book and I’m only reading in the evenings, but if I have a free day and can read for a few hours at a time I can get through 200 pages in a couple of sittings (depending on the book). 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Body in the Library | My Book Collection

Leave a Reply

