30 day book challenge: Day 13!

Day 13: Your favourite book from childhood.

What? You expect me to pick one? Just one? It can’t be done. I’ve had to pick a few.

From earliest childhood, it has to be Each Peach Pear Plum by Janet and Allan Ahlberg. I actually read this to my class of 5 and 6 year olds today. Except I didn’t need to check the words, I know it off by heart and I have done for a lot of years, before I was at school. Best book ever.

I remember my mum reading us a lot of books as children, most of which were amazing. I’m just going to mention one or two I have reread since and they are still fantastic.

Over Sea, Under Stone, The Dark is Rising, Greenwitch, The Grey King and Silver on the Tree, all by Susan Cooper.
If you haven’t read Susan Cooper’s amazing quintology (if that is a word), then read it now! They are amazing, riveting books. Having had them read to me in childhood, a reread as an adult plunged me back into the feeling of the first experience and I felt like a child again (in a good way), but I think they make a great read even if you come to them as an adult. Check them out.

Room 13 and Inside the Worm, by Robert Swindells.
Again, read to me by my mum, and due a reread. I remember these as edge of your seat adventures, with a great main character.

I can’t complete a post on childhood favourites without mentioning the following: Tom and Pippo by Helen Oxenbury; Dogger and Alfie gets in first by Shirley Hughes; Burglar Bill, Starting School and Cops and Robbers by Janet and Allan Ahlberg; Topsy and Tim go to the… by Jean and Gareth Adamson; Where the Wild Things Are and Chicken Soup with Rice by Maurice Sendak; My Cat Likes To Hide In Boxes by Eve Sutton and Lynley Dodd; Hairy Maclary from Donaldson’s Dairy by Lynley Dodd and Tales of Frog and Toad by Arnold Lobel.

Luckily I’m a primary school teacher, so I can read all these classics over and over again to a very appreciative audience of thirty.

If you enjoy reading about the book challenge, check out my fellow 30 day bloggers at Flower Faerie Lives Life, Books on the Tube and Me, Bookshelf and I.

3 thoughts on “30 day book challenge: Day 13!

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 13 | Me, Bookshelf and I

Leave a Reply

