30 day book challenge: Day 14.

Day 14: A book you regret not having read sooner.

Tough choice between two: Sovereign by CJ Sansom and The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins.

Sovereign was a Christmas gift that sat on my shelf for at least three years with no sign of interest from me. I didn’t think I would like it because it is historical. I don’t normally like to read books set in other times, and this held me back for a long time despite my love of the Tudor times in History at school. Then I took it on honeymoon with me last summer and couldn’t believe what I’d been missing! Now I’m definately going to work through the rest of the Matthew Shardlake books a lot quicker, because they are brilliant!

The Moonstone, on the other hand, I never had any intention of reading. I’d seen Wilkie Collins’ books on my mum’s shelf for years, but never thought I would bother. If anything, I thought I’d read The Woman in White because I enjoy a spooky story. Then, a few years ago, I picked up The Rough Guide to Crime Fiction by Barry Forshaw, and I realised I’d been missing out on one of the earliest detective novels in the form of The Moonstone. I read it. I regret not reading it sooner, because despite being very wordy it’s also very good! Now to get round to The Woman in White

One thought on “30 day book challenge: Day 14.

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 14 | Me, Bookshelf and I

Leave a Reply

