30 day book challenge: Day 18!

Day 18: A book that you think is highly overrated.

This is hard. I don’t read many “highly rated” books, for two reasons: 1. I like crime fiction and 2. I have so many books to read that I’m not always out buying the latest best seller. I love The Hunger Games and Twilight so I can’t go down those roads either.

I think Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James is highly overrated but I’m never planning on reading it so I don’t feel fully equipped to judge. I remember thinking The Rules of Attraction by Bret Easton Ellis was overrated, but I read it a long time ago and can’t really remember it, plus I really liked his other books. I also think I might feel that way about Life of Pi by Yann Martel, but I failed to read beyond the first few chapters, so again I can’t really judge.

I think I’m going to reluctantly go for Bright Lights, Big City by Jay McInerney. I quite liked it. I’ve enjoyed his books generally, and even like some of his short stories in How It Ended. However, it is a book that I think is highly rated by a lot of people, and I’d waited a long time to read it. It was good, it just didn’t seem to have that much of a plot, and that’s why I think it is a bit overrated. Highly overrated? No, I wouldn’t go that far, but I haven’t felt that strongly about any “rated” book in a long time. Maybe I need to start reading more popular or award-winnng fiction, but forgive me if I don’t rush out and buy anything right now: things like Fifty Shades… and Life of Pi doing so well has somewhat put me off.

Me, Bookshelf and I is also taking part in the 30 Day Book Challenge. Why not check out her take on it if you haven’t already.

2 thoughts on “30 day book challenge: Day 18!

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 18 | Me, Bookshelf and I

  2. I can say for sure that Life of Pi is highly overrated. Martel’s writing is like a boat bobbing on a current; sometimes it’s brilliant, but most of the time it’s flat, over-descriptive, and boring. It’s one of the rare cases when the movie does better than the book. I have to give him credit for the brilliant theme and philosophical message (heavy focus on religion), though—even though the latter is not entirely all-encompassing, either.

    I’ve written a review about it for an Australian free magazine, but I might post it on my blog sometime.

Leave a Reply

