The Eclectic Reader Challenge

To help me read some of the more obscure titles I have acquired on my giant to-read list I have decided to take up another challenge that I will start in June. The books I read for it will count towards my Readarama tally, but it will help me to read other genres I hope. It’s called The 2013 Eclectic Reader Challenge, and it is hosted by Book’d out.

20130518-130045.jpg

To participate you have to read and review twelve books, in twelve categories. I have tried to think which titles I own I can use, and here is my potential reading list (subject to change):

1. Translated fiction – Jo Nesbø Nemesis
2. Historical mystery – CJ Sansom Dark Fire
3. Romantic suspense – Siri Hustvet What I Loved
4. Made into a movie – Jeffery Deaver The Bone Collector
5. New Adult – Rachel Caine Feast of Fools
6. Urban Fantasy – Neil Gaiman Neverwhere
7. Dystopian – Justin Cronin The Twelve or Kurt Vonnegut Slaughterhouse Five
8. Memoir – Agatha Christie An Autobiography
9. LGBT – Annie Proulx Brokeback Mountain
10. Action Adventure – Eric Van Lustbader Robert Ludlum’s The Bourne Legacy
11. Humour – Simon Pegg Nerd Do Well
12. Published in 2013 – ?

I think I will have to borrow or buy something to qualify for the last category – it is the only one where I own nothing.
If you have any suggestions for any of the above categories, especially if they appear on my to-read list please let me know below.

2 thoughts on “The Eclectic Reader Challenge

  1. I like #1, 6, 7, and 11. I’ve heard that Van Lustbader doesn’t do Ludlum’s Trilogy justice. But I haven’t read any of his books, so I can’t say for sure. As for 12, what about Khaled Hosseini’s new novel, or David Sedaris’s “Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls”, or Ruth Ozeki’s “A Tale for the Time Being”?

    • Thanks for the suggestions Daniel. I shall check them out. I’ve read all three Bourne books and another unrelated one by Ludlum, so I don’t know how well Van Lustbader will live up to them. I can’t wait to read both titles at number 7. Have you read any by Jo Nesbø?

      P.S. Just looked up your suggestions. Okay, I’m judging a book by its (amazing) cover, but I now have to read Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls!

Leave a Reply

