30 day book challenge: Day 21

Day 21. The most disturbing book you’ve ever read.

Without hesitation this dubious honour goes to The Cement Garden by Ian McEwan.

I read this book years ago, but it still sprung to mind immediately when I saw this prompt. The most disturbing book I’ve read as an adult, hands down, is about a family and how they get through a terrible crisis in a terrible way. I’m not going to give any spoilers, you can read those elsewhere. In the words the narrator: “At the back of my mind I had a sense of us sitting about waiting for some terrible event, and then I would remember that it had already happened.”

I want to say I didn’t like the book, but I do appreciate it is well written, just a bit too close to chillingly nasty for me. Actually, I think disturbing is the perfect adjective for it.

As a child, a worse book I once borrowed from the library had to be taken away and hidden from me because it freaked me out so much. Now that is truly disturbing! So disturbing I can’t bring myself to write about it (sorry).

Also, I remember at high school being completely unable to sleep after reading Christopher Pike’s The Midnight Club, so I suppose you could say I am easily disturbed by certain things.

For nicer topics, such as books people regret not reading sooner, go check out Me, Bookshelf and I’s challenge.

One thought on “30 day book challenge: Day 21

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 21 | Me, Bookshelf and I

Leave a Reply

