30 day book challenge: Day 26!

26. Your favourite type of non-fiction book.

I don’t read non-fiction very often. Give me a story any day! The boys in my class would disagree, they can’t get enough of facts, but I prefer a good plot that keeps me engrossed.

Anyway, there are only really three types of non-fiction that I read. The first is books about childhood and education. I once even read a brilliant book about books and how they shape you as a child (The Child that Books Built by Francis Spufford). The second type of non-fiction I like is books about language. As you can see, the first type relates to my job and I started reading books like this when I studied to be a teacher. The second harks back to my degree in Linguistics. I’ve always loved words and expressions and knowing where they come from. You will see books of both these types on my giant to-read list. Also, I love books about football. Mainly because I love football. So that is my non-fiction reading mostly covered.

As I wrote this I realised that there is a fourth type of non-fiction in my life and I think I like it most of all! I think I like books about books best. The last non-fiction book I read was about the funny things that people say in bookshops. I highly recommend The Complete Polysyllabic Spree by Nick Hornby. I quite enjoyed Howards End is on the Landing: A Year of Reading from Home by Susan Hill too.

One thought on “30 day book challenge: Day 26!

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 26 | Me, Bookshelf and I

Leave a Reply

