30 Day Book Challenge: Day 27

27. Your favourite genre.

If this is the first post of mine you’ve ever read, here is the answer to this question: crime fiction.

Readers of this blog will already know that, so here is a bit more detail. Before University, and for the first two years I was there, I read mainy fiction, a lot of it trashy chick-lit. The likes of Adele Parks, Claire Calman and Jennifer Weiner were all on my bookshelf. In 2005, in my final year of university I was starting to read a lot of thrillers such as The Bourne Identity by Ribert Ludlum and The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown. Then, right after my dissertation was handed in in third year, and exams were over, I suddenly had a lot of time to read again after months of work. It was then I made a discovery, and that discovery was Ian Rankin. I bought his first Rebus book from a campus bookstall in the student union. I read it, my husband (then my boyfriend) read it after me. I was soon back at the stall for books two and three, and from there I was hooked. Crime fiction became my genre of choice. The following year I discovered Agatha Christie and learnt how good an old fashioned mystery can be. Crime fiction remains my genre of choice.

I often also read books about vampires, werewolves and the supernatural. Charlaine Harris and Laurrell K. Hamilton have written some fantastic books. I’ve been known to read sci-fi, fantasy and a lot of young adult and children’s books. But whatever I read, I keep coming back to the thrill of crime fiction and mysteries.

20130527-190629.jpg

3 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 27

    • Yes, I love the Sherlock Holmes stories. My mum used to read them to me and my brother. I’ve read lots since then and I think Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is an amazing writer.

      • I just believe he’s awesome, I also like Graham Greene, his book “the third man” I just a master piece… There’s a movie inspired on that book.

Leave a Reply

