Book 18: The Portable Door by Tom Holt

I really enjoyed The Portable Door. I read it slowly, at a leisurely pace, over two weekends, with some reading before bed at night. It was worth it. I’ve never read a book like it, and I’m glad I have now. It certainly won’t be long before I start looking for more Tom Holt books. I’ve had this one a long time: I bought it in 2005 when I was still at university because it was on special offer at Ottakar’s.

20130527-180436.jpg
I will say this to anyone who doubts this book on reading the opening: “Stick with it”. This is a great read. I thought it would be one thing, it turned out to be another entity entirely. The Portable Door is funny, it has a boy meets girl subplot, and it turns into a fantasy adventure where goblins exist and run riot in the office every night after closing. Paul Carpenter has just been hired as a junior clerk for a company at which he has no idea what their business is. Sophie has been hired alongside him. Then things get very very weird. I don’t want to spoil it for you, but this is undoubtedly one of the strangest books I will read this year. I’m so glad I did read it though.

Thank you to the two people who voted for me to read this book: you’ve given me a very enjoyable week of reading. Despite everything he does, I couldn’t help but like Paul and I grew to like Sophie too. I loved the mysterious goings on, and the elements of fantasy. This is the first comic fantasy I have read, and I am very likely to go out and read more on the strength of this. Apparently there is a sequel In Your Dreams, which I think I may have to hunt down.

I give Tom Holt’s amusing and cleverly written The Portable Door 7&1/2 out of 10. If you’ve never tried Tom Holt, why not give this a whirl. I have and I’m pleased I did!

One thought on “Book 18: The Portable Door by Tom Holt

  1. I see you’ve been very busy! I can never survive a 30-day book challenge. After reading this, I’m definitely going to give this book a try; I’ve been hearing good things about the author.

Leave a Reply

