30 day book challenge: Day 28-30.

Sorry to cheat on this challenge (again!) but I just haven’t had the time to give to it lately, so I’m going to finish it in one fell swoop!

28. The first book you can remember reading by yourself.

This is so hard. I would love to know what was the first book I read but I don’t have that good a memory of learning to read (I wish I did, it would help me do my job a lot better). I know that the first book I knew by heart was Each Peach Pear Plum by Janet and Allan Ahlberg, and I still know every word of that book to this day. I learnt it before I started school, presumably before I had any ability to actually decode the words on the page. At school I learnt to read using the famous reading books set in the Village with three corners, and I do know the first book I took home from school as a reading book was Roger Red Hat.

29. An author you wish was more well-known.

Maybe Jonathan Santlofer. I mentioned his brilliant books, Colour Blind and The Death Artist earlier in this challenge and they are a great read. I am constantly looking out for his other books, but have yet to come across any.

30. The book you are reading right now.

A few hours earlier, and I would be saying The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova, but I’ve just finished that. So as of today, Killer in the Rain by Raymond Chandler, a short story that precedes The Big Sleep, that I borrowed from the library on a rare visit this week. It’s only 72 pages long, so I won’t be reading it for long!

That concludes the 30 day challenge. Apologies once again that I took longer than 30 days and had to combine some posts.

5 thoughts on “30 day book challenge: Day 28-30.

Leave a Reply

