Book 24: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

20130727-144856.jpg

[The above is a book haul from Whitstable in June, with the Lee Child and Gone Girl loans from my mum. The Patricia Cornwells and the Rick Yancey (which I was desperate to read since I heard about it through Penguin’s Readarama) were just 50p at a charity sale.]

What can I say about Gone Girl? For months now I’ve heard people raving about it, highly recommending it to me and generally heaping it with praise. I didn’t like it. I just didn’t. Let me start with what I did like first though. I liked the switching between the husband and wife, Nick and Amy’s perspectives. I liked the style at first. However, there was a overwhelming problem for me (and maybe you were meant to): I hated both the main characters. Seriously, they were repulsive people. Especially Amy, whose every word and deed were toxic. Nick was almost as bad, a vile liar with more skeletons in his closet than I cared to read about.

I don’t want to say much more because I don’t wish to spoil the storyline. It was a good idea, I give Flynn that, and I mostly liked her writing. First person perspective is high on my list of likes, as is an alternating point of view. I read it very quickly so it did keep me gripped. If only the people weren’t so horrible. I guess maybe that was part of the point. I’m aware I’m in a tiny minority by slating Gone Girl, but I give it just 6/10.

2 thoughts on “Book 24: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. I didn’t even read Gone Girl because I’d read another book by Flynn (Dark Places) and didn’t enjoy it… my biggest complaint being that I didn’t like any of the characters. Unlikable characters have their place, but this one just didn’t work for me, and nothing I heard about Gone Girl made me think it would be any different. Oh well, not every book is for everyone.

    • Wise choice. I’ve not read Dark Places but based on the characters in this one I wouldn’t read her books again. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks that this isn’t for everyone.

Leave a Reply

