Book 25: The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

As mentioned in the previous post, I had wanted to get hold of The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey ever since I read a review on Penguin’s Readarama. Then I found it for 50p at a church charity sale in Whitstable and bought it along with a bit of a haul of Patricia Cornwell books.

20130728-113819.jpg

I read it straight after Gone Girl, again it was demolished in a couple of days. Wow it was an addictive read. I love books like this, particularly The Passage by Justin Cronin, of which it somewhat reminded me. It also reminded me a bit of Stephenie Meyer’s The Host.

Cassie has had her family torn apart during the first four waves of the alien invasion. Her mother died from the illness, her Dad has been murdered before her eyes and her brother taken. She doesn’t know where. The book also follows Ben, who has lost his family and is being trained in an army of sorts. His part was very Mockingjay-esque. Evan also features heavily, a man of mystery who is helping Cassie. I don’t want to give any spoilers but if you like any of the three books I have compared this to I suggest you read it NOW.

A gripping read. Good twists and great narratives from all the characters. There was a lot here I liked and admired. Although aliens were involved it was a bit apocalyptic, somewhat zombie-ish. All thing I enjoy reading about when I’m not reading crime or mysteries.

I give The Fifth Wave 8/10. I was not disappointed.

Next on my review catch up list Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris.

Leave a Reply

