Book 40: A Murder is Announced by Agatha Christie

20131031-155817.jpg

Back to Christie, although I admit I picked up A Murder is Announced because I was going on a train journey and the book I’d just started reading (Black Notice – see previous post) was too big to fit in my bag, especially if I was to carry it around London all day. And so, for reasons of practicality I began reading this book. I then left it for a month at least before finishing it one weekend.

What did I think of A Murder is Announced by Agatha Christie? Well, I really enjoyed it. I guessed wildly and constantly throughout who had committed the crime. This was the first Christie I ever solved in my mind at any point correctly. That made me love it all the more. Although, if I am completely honest, I do think I may have seen a Marple adaptation on TV of this years ago, so maybe it isn’t such a feat after all!

Anyway, this book starts slowly but gets very gripping at the end when murder upon murder is being committed all of a sudden. A fast paced read for the most part. Marple’s contribution was good.

I give A Murder is Announced 7/10.

Now I’m up to date with my reading this year. I have three books on the go at the moment: The Last Precinct by Patricia Cornwell, Agatha Christie The Grand Tour edited by Mathew Prichard and Poirot’s Early Cases by Agatha Christie. I will update as soon as I’ve read any of them (if I can).

Leave a Reply

