Book 46: A Shilling for Candles by Josephine Tey

I borrowed this one from my mum, who deemed it better than the more famous The Franchise Affair which I haven’t read yet!

A Shilling for Candles involves a famous actress and singer found dead on a beach one morning, and the lead detective’s quest to find out who actually was responsible. This was a good read. It was well written, and I liked the way Tey uses her words concisely and keeps it interesting. It also had a decent twist.

Well worth a read, and it will cause me to read more by this author (I have three more on loan from mum, including the aforementioned The Franchise Affair. I give this book 7/10. It was let down only by a drop in pace in parts.

Leave a Reply

