Book 8: The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins

I’m very excited to announce that I am one step closer to achieving the most challenging of my New Years book resolutions. I’ve read 1/4 of the huge classic novels I hope to read this year by demolishing Wilkie Collins’ The Woman in White. I say demolished, because I thought it would take me weeks and I would find it hard going, but not a bit of it! I’ve read it in under a week, all 620+ pages of it.

20140216-172422.jpg
This is the beautiful edition I read, a Christmas gift from my mum. I had spare time to read this week because I’ve been home with a chest infection. So, on Tuesday I was bored, and my mum challenged me by saying “I bet you won’t read The Woman in White“. Reader: I did.

Now, having spent time on and off for five days reading this classic Victorian ‘Sensation novel’, I’m so glad I picked it up. It provided a fantastic amount of entertainment and at times the suspense was unbearable.

Having also read The Moonstone several years ago, I think the thing I like about Collins’ writing is also what sometimes frustrates me and gets me a bit (very temporarily) fed up. I love switching narrators, but he does tend to stick with a narrator until I’m devastated to part company with them, then brings me a different narrator I get into, then snatches them away too. Anyway, the suspense in the middle: wow, this author knows how to ramp it up. At times I was afraid for his characters. At the end I was almost elated for them.

The villains. I can’t leave a review of The Woman in White without mentioning first how dastardly and evil some of the villains of this piece are. I leave you to find out who they are for yourself, lest I spoil it, but suffice it to say they make some villains look positively lovely.

In case I haven’t gushed enough already, as you can tell, I was absolutely hooked by this book. From start to finish I was gripped, my attention only waning once or twice which is amazing in a book of more than 600 pages. I’m pleased to have read it, and enjoyed the various personalities, twists and suspenses throughout.

I would give The Woman in White at least 8/10.

3 thoughts on “Book 8: The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins

  1. Great review, I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I was a bit the same as you, I had to talk myself into reading it and then once I started I could hardly put it down. The villains were brilliant, I thought I’d more or less figured them out but then they still managed to surprise me. I haven’t read The Moonstone but after The Woman in White I’m keen to find a copy!!

    • I’m still thinking about it days later which is always a good sign! The Moonstone is shorter but I seem to remember some of the characters/narrators being a bit less interesting. It’s good though. Thanks for the comment and hope you find a copy soon!

      • It certainly is! The Moonstone isn’t on the list of ‘greatest books’ that I’m working through, maybe the compilers agreed with you about characters being annoying lol.I’m still keen to read it and find out though.

Leave a Reply

